The question on ProWebmasters: https://webmasters.stackexchange.com/questions/8335/what-is-the-aim-of-this-email-is-this-a-ping-sping (link to question) has been closed as off-topic. I was asking it in case someone had some background information or knowledge about spam practises.

Hi, I received this spam in my catch-all (All headers and full message in the original question).
As a webmaster of the domain it was sent to, I am really curious what the reason for this mail is. It was sent to a non-existent user "tania" on my domain - here I used mydomain.zzz - what do the sender want to achieve? Since many mail servers have stopped backscattering, not getting a bounce would not mean anything, would it?

And if this is off topic, where inb the StackExchange WOULD it be on topic?

UPDATE: Moved it to ServerFault

UPDATE: they ALSO found it off topic. Great :(

1 Answer 1


Regardless of whether or not it is on-topic, I'm not sure I even understand your question.

It is "here is this random spam email, what does it mean?"

  • Please see revised meta and question
    – mplungjan
    Jan 28, 2011 at 12:12
  • @mpl I suppose it is serverfault.com then, as hardcore email diagnostics would be best served there. Jan 28, 2011 at 12:12
  • Ok thanks. That would have been great to know - or the closer could even have transferred it there...
    – mplungjan
    Jan 28, 2011 at 12:14
  • @mpl best to move it or ask it during US business hours when sf.com will be busiest, so ~4-5 hours from now. Jan 28, 2011 at 12:19
  • 1
    No luck there either
    – mplungjan
    Jan 29, 2011 at 9:44

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .